“Do you want to be right or happy?”

Who wouldn’t want to be right? As humans we are programmed to want to be right and we certainly don’t like it when others don’t agree with us about how right we are. Bloody bastards.

Being right. It’s a very black and white statement. I’m right and you’re wrong. The problem is that life is usually, with some exceptions, a massive grey area. Definitives are rare.

You may be ‘right’ from your point of view but everyone experiences the world differently. Even if you try and put yourself in anothers shoes you still may struggle to see where they’re coming from. And that’s okay but we don’t like it.


Sometimes because we are right we lose things. And that makes me sad. We lose days, events and even people.

Have you ever been right but because the other participant in your argument doesn’t agree you haven’t spoken all day. The  days plans get flushed down the loo and you realise you can’t ever get that day back.

Have you ever not gone to an event because you were in the right and the organiser or anther party goer was wrong. “Fine then I won’t come – if you’re going I’m not going”.

Have you ever lost a friend over being right? “Well if he/she can’t see I’m right and apologise I don’t want to be friends with someone like that.”

Can you see the pattern here. Being right is taking something from you. Being right is becoming a hindrance in your life and surely that can only ever be wrong?

Don’t be so right that you become wrong. Be right and then MOVE ON. The later part is the most important.

I found myself wishing recently that I hadn’t been right so the argument hadn’t started. I actually had wanted to have a terrific day with this person until I rode off into the sunset on my high horse. The problem with riding off on your high horse is that the horse doesn’t like to back track. If you want to turn around you’ve got to get off and come back in a much more mediocre and less dramatic way than you left. You can’t go back now, it would ruin your exit! How embarrassing!

Well I’m partitioning for the extinction of high horses. Be right (or think you’re right) and then get on your normal sized horse, give your friend/relation a leg up and ride into the sunset together. It’s much more fun trust me. High horses may look great but they’re lonely up there.

Photography credit –

http://stellafrench.weebly.com

One thought on ““Do you want to be right or happy?”

  1. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve visited this blog befoire but
    after looking at some of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m definitely pleased I came across it and I’ll be bookmarking it and
    checking back regularly!

    Like

Leave a Reply

